What is Gluten?

Gluten is a naturally occurring protein found in many common grains. These grains are wheat (including different varieties such as spelt and kamut), rye, barley, cross-bred hybrids (e.g., triticale, which is a cross between wheat and rye), and possibly oats.

There are also many hidden sources of gluten in foods that are often used to thicken, flavor, or enhance their structure or texture. These gluten derivatives may appear on the ingredients list as additives, cereal grains, colorings, emulsifiers, flavorings or malt, hydrolyzed plant protein (HHP), hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), preservatives, starches or modified food starches, vegetable gum, and vinegar.